My Evangelization Story: discipleship

The evangelization story: discovering God (Part 2 of 4)

Evangelization is relationship-building

God continuously bring people into my life to be part of my evangelization journey: my Grandmother who taught me prayers; my Aunt who brought and encouraged me to go to Mass; my elementary teacher who encouraged me to become Altar Boy; my religion class teachers who were instrumental in nurturing my interest for study about Christianity and the Catholic Church; my fellow Sta. Monica Youth Ministry (SMYM) members who has been inspirations on how to be a responsible youth and in serving God through His church; my Brothers who are role model in dedicated service rendered as a Knight of Columbus (KC).

Ang Lingkod Ng Panginoon (ALNP) sisters and brothers gave me venue to continue my journey with God through service. Servants of the Lord’s Vineyard (SOLV) Sisters and Brothers accepted me as a family member the warm welcome, presence, prayer and support for Getti, Elisha and I. Our journey with Ligaya Ng Panginoon (LNP) has been teaching us a lot about marriage and how to work together with God as constant partner in our life as a family.

 Getti: my life-long evangelizer and partner

As I am reminded that evangelization is not a one-time big time journey, God sent my life-long evangelizer and partner in Getti. When I met and learned that Getti is a member of SOLV, I saw how dedicated she serves, how firm she is in her beliefs, how she keeps her values, how generous of she shares time and resources for the Lord, and how accepting and non-judgmental she is in her dealings with others.

I am thankful to God for Getti. She continues to be my daily evangelizer: on how to deal with parents and in-laws; how to handle resources; how to treat others with love and respect; how to share freely and not counting anything in return.  With her as my wife and life-long evangelizer, I know that God will shape me to the best person that I can be. Getti is a manifestation of God’s love to me and an affirmation that doing my mission as a Christian is life journey not meant to spend alone.

JAY&GETTI 0190

My series of discoveries of God was made possible through different relationships.  What is common about those who are instrumental of my encounters with God is that they were first my friends. Our friendships serve as foundation for me to know more about God and eventually led to personal friendship with Him. Their acceptance and sincerity played a big factor which established a life-long friendship that ushered my exciting journey as a Christian.

 

 

Leave a Reply

