Precious coin

I always make it a point to pick any coin whenever I see one anywhere – be it in the streets, by the jeepney or on the floor of an establishment. The reason for this is that I believe that every single coin has a value, how small it may be. Come to think of it, there will be no 1 billion pesos if there there’s a lacking 0.5 centavos.

You and I are similar to a coin. Individually, we have our own value in God’s eyes. We are valuable to God. Each one of us is created in a unique and special way, collectively forming God’s body – His church.

Being part of God’s one body, we are called to contribute to God’s mission of spreading the Good News of salvation through our service. But there are times that we think and feel that we don’t have the talent, we are not capable or eloquent or fit enough to serve. Let us be reminded that even how little you have, but when offered whole-heartedly to God, He will bless it and turn it to something of great value. So serve the Lord: volunteer to arrange the chairs, to clean the room, to collect the garbage, to help out in singing, to welcome guests, to serve food. There are a lot of ways as long as you are sincere in your desire and will to serve.

One song that always moves me to reflect on how uniquely valuable my service to God is Corrine May’s Five Loaves and Two Fishes. The song was inspired by the Gospel of John (6:1-14) where Jesus fed the 5,000. It tells us the story of a boy who, upon hearing that Jesus and his disciples need food, presented his 5 loves and 2 fishes. Such an innocent act of kindness from that boy! The miracle that happened next was beyond his understanding: because of his 5 loaves and 2 fishes, Jesus feeds 5000 men plus the women and children!

So, what does it take from us for God to work miracles? It’s our “Amen”. Just like in the case of Mary, when God heard her “Yes” and He started to work on miracle right there and then by putting Jesus in her womb. God wants us to listen, obey and surrender whatever He tells us. We have to believe. We have to let go and let God.

Whenever discouragements and insecurities start to work its way in me, I remember the line from the song that says… “So take my five loaves and two fishes. Do with it as you will, I surrender. Take my fears and my inhibitions. All my burdens, my ambitions. You can use it all. I hope it’s not too small”. This line will usually bring me to an immediate awareness of God’s invitation to surrender whatever I have and that I just have to lift up to Him.

In our journey through life, there will always be obstacles and challenges that will come our way. We will be tested and crushed. But let us be reminded that all we need is to surrender to God. Let us bring our concerns, our aspirations, our dreams, our frustrations, our pains, our joys to Him as our gift, as our five loaves and 2 fishes. Inspired by the line from the song, we let God take our fears and our inhibitions, all our burdens and our ambitions. God can use it all, because for Him, no gift is too small.

You and I are priceless to God. That even if sometimes we see our worth as low as 0.5 centavo, God will pick us up. He will keep us and value us like precious gemstones of emerald, ruby, sapphire and diamond. Ready to be offered to the King of Kings.

Leave a Reply

